Haunted

Echoes of voices I haven’t heard in so long… I had hoped it wouldn’t get this far, but I can’t really say I didn’t know all along what to expect. I hate this part of it…I’m not used to it anymore. I’m not used to the endless rambling, the detachment that seems tangible even over the phone, hearing a familiar voice that’s just maybe a single octave higher than usual. I’m not used to someone so crisp being so lifeless, in such denial. There are certain people I never would have expected to become classic examples (although I guess that is part of a classic example, in a way). When does being a friend start hurting someone? When does denial start hurting more than one person?

Leave a Reply

